Get Active! Art Competition (2012)

226Get Active!First Place
(poster color, watercolor)

Technology has been a big factor in today’s society. At first, with the new gadgets and gizmos, it  seemed pretty amazing to have the world in the palm of your hand. The new iPhone allowed a voice activated control system and the Samsung Galaxy tablet has a built in touch screen. And all awhile these electronic devices connect you to the internet and social networking applications along with games and music.
However, I’ve noticed that these devices can be more detrimental one’s mind and health than helpful. They are addicting. I have too many friends glued to their phones and computers all day long checking trivial matters like their Instagram and Facebook notifications. I agree that they’re fun and pleasing to look at, and the idea of having so many people like a single photo of yours confirms your popularity and likability that makes one feel accomplished. But sometimes, enough is enough.

I’ve never owned my own phone. So I know exactly how it feels to go from one state to another, phone to phoneless. I sometimes borrow my friends’ smartphones to check an update, and I quickly find myself glued to it. However, once I detach myself, I realize what a waste of time it was. With all that time teenagers commit to their phones and computers, they could be doing other meaningful activities that will benefit them. Instead of looking through photos of other people’s lives, they could be outdoors, taking a jog or meeting up with some friends.
In my painting, I’ve portrayed the contrast between people who outdoors and indoors. The ones with their electronics don’t have faces, because I wanted to embody how the  people outside, in nature, are more alive than the ones glued to their phones. And painting this scene of Lake Chabot made me realize how beautiful outdoor nature really is. At the awards ceremony, I was glad to receive many different compliments and remarks about my painting; it proved that I had gotten my message across, and people had understood how I was feeling.

033

Lucky for me, I was interviewed by the magazine, Bay Nature Connections, on my artwork and my background. Here it is below.사진사진 (2) 사진 (3)If you’d like to read the interview in paper form or in digital copy, or if you’re interested in ordering any other issue of the Bay Nature Connections, please visit the link below.
http://baynature.org/issue/oct-dec-2012/

I also featured in an interview in the Regional in Nature: Activity GuideIMGIMG_0002If you can’t read what it says above, it reads:
Ditch the Technology: GO FOR A WALK IN THE PARK
by Grace Moon, Castro Valley High School student and first place winner in the “Get Active!” 2012 youth creative contest. Winning entries will be exhibited at the Tilden Regional Park Environmental Education Center in November and December.

Many of my friends are totally into their phones and laptops. And even the five and six year old kids that my mother teaches in kindergarten handle them with ease. But I have learned to see these things as distractions. Many evenings after dinner, my dad and I go for a walk beside Lake Chabot, and because I don’t have a cell phone or iPod with me, I can see what’s important, and what’s not. I really love the views of the lake. When I created my poster, I wanted my friends to see that being outside and active is bigger than staring at a computer screen for hours. It’s way more fun than watching TV.

Another great opportunity I received was an interview for the Hankook Ilbo, aka The Korea Times. The reporter not only interviewed me on the winning of the Get Active! art competition, but she also wrote about all my other accomplishments, including Doodle 4 Google and the Korean American Day Art Competition. Here’s the featured article below.

IMG_0003Here’s the link: http://sf.koreatimes.com/article/736269

I also appeared in the Weekly Hyundae News USA.

IMG_0005

One thought on “Get Active! Art Competition (2012)

Leave a Reply

