Three Little Monkeys (2008)

183

medium: poster color (18″ x 24″)

Three monkeys in a forest, what to do? the front monkey seems to ask. This is one of my older works, however I still love it nonetheless. I remember I was first starting to use poster color, which is like gouache, and I was struggling to get clean strokes and perfect gradation with the shadows and lighting of the monkeys’ fur. Looking at it now, it doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, which demonstrates how much I’ve excelled and  improved in my art skills, and it’s nice to see how things have turned for the better, and how passionate I’ve become about this practice. My favorite part of the piece is the coconuts; I remember the fun I had while painting these fruits with different designs.

Leave a Reply

